My Caregiver’s Journey Pt 1

caregivers journey

caregiver

 
 

 

 

Most of you know that I took care of my mother for several years until her passing in October 2014. What you might not know is I have spent more than 20 years caring for family members. I did what I did because I felt it was the right thing to do – still do – however if you’ve never cared for a sick or terminally person you might not realize all that’s involved. If you have, you already know how extremely difficult, yet rewarding, it can be. This is my Caregiver’s Journey.

 

Another reason I’m writing this saga is just for my own sake. I want to understand how I wound up where I am – living with my grandson’s family, no car, and a new fledgling business. I want to understand that the choices I made over time are the choices I’d still make today. And quit beating myself up so much.

 

If you think this all will be told in one post then we haven’t met. My name is Colleen and I can’t say ‘hello’ in two words.  And I don’t know anyone who could summarize 20 years of anything. So there’s that.

 

To let you know what’s coming –

 
 
    • Husband’s knee surgery
 
    • Husband’s knee surgery on other knee
 
    • Husband’s botched gall bladder surgery
 
    • Friend’s shoulder surgery
 
    • Mom’s broken wrists – as in BOTH of them
 
    • Mother in Law’s stroke
 
    • Mom’s CLL – Chronic Lymphatic Leukemia (cancer)
 
    • Brother’s CLL
 
    • Husband’s death
 
    • Brother’s death
 
    • Mom’s death
 
 

I promise you it’s not all doom and gloom. I mean, you have to have a great sense of humor when you’re a caregiver, believe me. When I recounted the stories to a friend I hadn’t seen in over 20 years, we were laughing and crying. Sometimes laughing so hard it made tears roll.

 

Bear with me as these posts pop up now and then. I am busy painting commissions – which you will see, promise – but I want to get back to a regular blogging schedule.

 

If you know of someone who is a caregiver, I hope you’ll share these posts with them.

 

Colleen

 

 

The post My Caregiver’s Journey Pt 1 appeared first on Just Paint It Blog.

Leave a Reply

